SCHEDULING SURGERY

I go for surgery soon (August 7).  I picked my surgeon because he is one of only two that uses a device called a MarginProbe, which is supposed to assist with identifying clear margins when lumpectomy is performed.  Yep, I’m going with a lumpectomy.  Everything I’ve read so far seems to make sense that a lumpectomy is the way to go.  My DCIS is not wide-spread, but localized and I believe I’m a good candidate to get everything out.

The surgeon mentioned radiation and taking tamoxifen for the next five years.  Really, not looking forward to that.  I’m okay so far.  I’ve been assigned a nurse navigator.  So far, so good as far as emotions go.  However, I find that cancer, no matter the diagnosis or the stage is never easy.

DCIS is considered Stage 0 but has a grading system of low (1), medium (2), and high (3).  I’m a Stage 0 grade 2.  As my surgeon put it, we want to remove the DCIS rather than waiting to see if the horses are going to break out of the barn.  Given that I grew up with a grandpa that said things about barn doors and escaping farm animals, I’m okay with that analogy.

However, I’m nervous about the surgery and afraid that I’m not going to wake up or wake up some kind of vegetable on a breathing machine.  I feel like I need to clean up stuff I don’t want people to see or maybe download a will on the internet and draw up one right quick.

To read more about the MarginProbe, go here.

Leave a Reply

